Europe B and B
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.5
 Rooms  2.7
 Cleanliness  2.8
 Location  2.7
 Security & Safety  3.0
 Service & Staff  3.1
 Food / Dining  2.5
 Total  2.9

"Forest Gate Hotel, probably the worst hotel in the world."

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Stephen R. of Colchester, England
Reviewed:   May 3, 2010  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The worst place I've ever stayed in. Bare bulb in room, no bedside lamp, poorly decorated with patches of unpainted plaster, broken window blind, kettle in room (also a fridge & microwave!) but no cup, coffee or tea etc. No hot water in the wash room or showers. Breakfast too late on Saturday & Sunday when I had to be elsewhere for 9am and on Monday morning there was no-one there to provide any breakfast!. If you're thinking of staying there, think again.

"the worst place"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Laura B. of BARCELONA, Spain
Reviewed:   April 14, 2009  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
is the worst hotel that I have ever been!!! the sheets and towels smells bad and contains stains, the breakfast was very poor, and the bathroom was so dirty!!!!! saturday night the was a party in the street with music in the cars and we couldn´t sleep. It was so awful!!!!

"Good Stay"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Jerry D. of Dixon, Ca., United States
Reviewed:   May 23, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I think many of the reviews of this hotel are unfair. I have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The bathrooms and showers were always clean. Not all the rooms are small. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. It has a classic working class pub. The pub and rooms are old. It is true that if you reserve a specific bed arrangement you may not get it. The breakfast is good. For the price it is what it is. Also, the pub food is good. I would stay again.

I had a great time at the pub on quiz night(Wednesday?) The other entertainment is great. Its an old hotel/pub. The price is right. It is what it is.

"Good experience"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Martin D. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   May 15, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Londoninstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My room was comfortable and the showers worked good.
The atmosphere of the place is specially nice because the basement of the hotel is a pub.
It's 30 minutes (train + walking) from Liverpool Street in London. Staff is helpful and friendly and moreover they offer the english breakfast in the morning.
Forest Gate hotel offers a good relation between price and quality.

"4 nights in Forest Gate Hostel"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Nadia R. of Zürich, Switzerland
Reviewed:   March 30, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Forest Gate Hostel was very cheap for London standard (30£ per night and room). however, the first night, we didn't get the room we booked (two beds instead of a double bed) and a very small, dirty room, with old dirty linen where we found stains and hairs of the former guests. The second night we were in our double bed room, where we found old socks underneath the bed and old stuff in the refrigator... Some rooms in the hostel are building sites. Water in the shower turn suddenly cold in the middle of the shower and breakfast contains 1 egg, two spoons of beans, 2 toast, 1 small sausage and bacon. If you are vegetarian, it is not possible to have more toast instead of meat. For us, this hostel was the worst place we have ever been and we can recommend it only to people that are looking for a cheap, but dirty uncomfortable place

"Forest gate is OK"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Robert T. of Eindhoven, Netherlands
Reviewed:   March 5, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Forrest Gate does not respond to my questions I send in advance via mail (5 times) so I had to phone for more info.
I stayed from friday to tuesday. Had a single room.
Room, toilets and showers are clean. Breakfast is OK (but heavy for the Dutch). Connection, by bus, to Excel Ehibition center is OK. Just a 10 min walk and a 30 min busride. Since the room was above a pub it was noisy (until 2am I guess) but for me that is no problem.
Extending your stay at the hotel is 20% more expensive than booking via Instantworldbooking.

"Good Cheap Hostel"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   F G. of QC, Canada
Reviewed:   January 1, 2008  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good hostel, located in a residential district. Not in the center of London, but with the train, it take around 45 min. from the hostel to St-Pancras. Just buy a day pass and it's nearly the same price than a 1 travel card!!Trains are regular at forest gate.
Anyway, the pub may be a problem for noise, but it the only source you can find there. Price are really cheap and the staff very friendly. Room are ok, but for the price, they are great!

"3 Nights at Forest Gate"

User Rating:  2.6
Reviewer:   J S. of NY, United States
Reviewed:   December 21, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Londoninstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Forest Gate Hotel (it's really not a hotel, but a noisy pub with a handful of rooms above it) is not conveniently located if you're visiting the tourist attractions of London. They also don't return emails or phone calls. However, the rooms are clean and suitable for a short stay.

"Forest Gate Hotel"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Katka G. of Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed:   August 27, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   August 2006     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We have enjoyed our stay in hostel Forest Gate,clean and cheap...

"London outskirts?!"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Krisse K. of siuntio, Finland
Reviewed:   August 13, 2007  (see bed and breakfast reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Reasonably priced! Excellent choice, if you need a place for yoyr luggage while you are checking out the sites in the city... Very nice hosts and hostesses, and a good breakfast. We left in the morning, came back at night, had a few beers downstairs and then up to bed..

worth the money, not the easiest place to find, but once you´re there you´ll find it easy again.

-Krisse and Sande


1 - 10 of 15 reviews  Next 5 results




EuropeBandB Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Bed & Breakfast Reviews  |   Write a Bed & Breakfast Review  |   Suggest Bed & Breakfasts  |   Search Bed & Breakfasts  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Bed & Breakfast  |   Link to Us